Adult Literacy

Volunteer Requirements:

  • Have a high school diploma
  • Commit to 6 months of working with your learner
  • Attend a 12-hour training course (over 2 Saturdays). You will be taught nationally recognized adult tutoring methods as well as how to use the materials and skillbooks

Upcoming Trainings:

Dates: April 14 & 21st

Time: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Location: Kukui Center, 245 N. Kukui St. Honolulu, HI

Contact:

OAHU STAFF

Justin Jansen, Adult Literacy Program Manager
Office: (808) 537-6706
Work Cell: 352-7797
E-mail: justin.jansen@hawaiiliteracy.org

Kirsten Yale, Student Services Coordinator                                     E-mail: kyale@hawaiiliteracy.org

HAWAII ISLAND STAFF

Kona Literacy Center
Bougainvillea Plaza
75-5656 Kuakini Hwy, Suite 102B
Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Google Map

Lisa Jacob, Adult Literacy Coordinator
E-mail: lisa.jacob@hawaiiliteracy.org
(808) 329-1180

KAUAI STAFF

Dennis Dresser, Adult Literacy Coordinator
E-mail: islandvision@hawaii.rr.com
(808) 332-5544


Bookmobile

volunteer requirements:

  • Minimum commitment of one visit per week, for at least four months
  • A criminal background check is required

Contact:

Pua‘Ena Burgess, Bookmobile Program Manager
E-mail: puaena.burgess@hawaiiliteracy.org
Tel: (808) 225-5052

Natashya Nihipali, Bookmobile Assistant Program Manager
E-mail: natashya.nihipali@hawaiiliteracy.org


English Language Learner

drop-in center:

  • Volunteers can assist at our Drop-In-Center in a variety of ways. Some volunteers elect to design or teach components of the class. Others act as teacher's assistants. Volunteers can then help the students with their classwork or practice — it's a casual way to volunteer while giving English Language Learners some individualized assistance.

Contact:

Justin Jansen, Adult Literacy Program Manager & ELL Coordinator
(808) 352-7797
justin.jansen@hawaiiliteracy.org

Patrick Agullana, ELL Instructor
(808) 778-9356
patrick.agullana@hawaiiliteracy.org


Volunteer Requirements:

  • A minimum commitment of one visit per week, for at least three months is requested
  • A criminal background check is required

contact:

Rina Moefu, Family Literacy Program Manager
E-mail: rina.moefu@hawaiiliteracy.org
Tel: (808) 721-4303

Family Literacy Libraries