Officers and Board of Directors


  • Brandon Kurisu, President (President, Upspring Media)

  • Jason Fujita, Vice-President (Vice President, Hawaiian Telcom)

  • Aaron K. Masuoka, Co-Treasurer (CPA LLC)

  • Jamie Asato, Co-Treasurer (Assurance Senior Manager, Accuity LLC)

  • Suzanne Skjold, Secretary (Executive Director, Hawaii Literacy, Inc.)

Board of Directors

  • Mitchell Ka‘aiali‘i, Vice President & Area Manager, First Hawaiian Bank

  • Kevin Katsura, Director, Regulatory Non-Rate Proceedings, HECO

  • Kara Kitazaki-Chun, Assistant Vice President Quality Management, HMSA

  • Sean K. Knox, President, HiEmployment

  • Jason Masaki, D.S.R.

  • Ashlee Matsui, Savio Group

  • Doug Shimokawa, Vice President, PACXA

  • R. Scott Simon, Founder and Principal, Simon Leadership Group

  • G. Todd Withy, Law Office of G. Todd Withy

  • James A. Wong, Chief Financial Officer for Zellinsky Company

Hawaii Literacy is very grateful to these business and community leaders who volunteer many hours and resources to further the vision of a Hawaii where every adult and child is able to read and write.  Our work would truly not be possible without their efforts and dedication to community.